CIIS's 14th Annual Haridas and Bina Chaudhuri Dinner and Celebration took place on May 7, 2016, at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City, California. Guests are saying that it was the best one yet.

We honored accomplished Vedic scholar and practitioner Acharaya Shunya Pratichi Mathur and brought the total raised for the new Haridas Chaudhuri Endowed Chair for South Asian Philosophy and Culture to over $1 Million. We are more than half way to reaching our $2M goal for the Endowed Chair, which will ensure that Indic spirituality and philosophy—so critical to the founding mission of university—will forever be woven into the  integral education offered at CIIS. If you are not already a donor to the Chaudhuri Chair, please consider becoming one by donating as a monthly sustainer.

Enjoy photos from a delightful evening where we raised $35,000 while connecting with friends and our faculty and staff. This year’s addition of a silent auction brought in donations valued at $15,000. Premiere items included a private Ayurvedic chef's dinner, barrel tasting in Sonoma, and a feng shui crystal and consultation package!  

Many thanks to the attending guests, silent auction donors, and table sponsors, including major sponsors: Vartain Law Group and Technology Credit Union. Your support makes it possible to come together every spring to honor CIIS’s founders and renew our charge to continue their work in this world.

For more information about the event or the Haridas Chaudhuri Endowed Chair for South Asian Philosophy and Culture, please contact Dorotea Reyna at 415-575-6135 or

SAVE THE DATE for next year's event:  Saturday, May 6, 2017!

Past recipients of the Haridas and Bina Chaudhuri Award for Distinguished Service are as follows:

2003 Deepak Chopra
2004 Rajendra and Malti Prasad
2005 Magan Patel
2006 Rajnikant and Helen Desai
2007 Ali Akbar Khan
2008 Naranji V. Patel
2009 Kavita N. Ramdas
2010 Kanwal Rekhi
2011 Haresh C. Shah
2012 Navin and Pratibha Doshi
2013 Mani L. Bhaumik
2014 Lata Krishnan
2015 Zakir Hussain
2016 Acharya Shunya Pratichi Mathur

Related Links

Stay Connected